top of page
  • RPW

Philadelphia Big 5 Honors Announced

The Philadelphia Big 5 Honors were announced for Men’s Basketball.

Villanova senior guard Ryan Arcidiacono and junior guard Josh Hart were both named to the All-Big 5 first team.Hart and Arcidiacono have each collected their share of awards this season. Hart is the leading scorer for Villanova averaging 15.3 points per game whereas Arcidiacono leads in assists, steals, and minutes played.

Teammates, Junior guard Kris Jenkins and senior forward Daniel Ochefu were named to the All-Big 5 second team. Finally, freshman starting guard Jalen Brunson was named Big Five Rookie of the Year.

Villanova dominated Big 5 play as they swept the city going 4-0. This season marks their third straight Big 5 championship.All five players will be honored at the Big 5 banquet and Hall of Fame induction on Monday, April 11 beginning at 6:30 pm at the Palestra.

The full list of teams and awards can be found below. Tickets for the night are $10 each and also available at the door the night of the banquet. The event will honor current men’s and women’s award winners.

In addition, five of the greatest men’s basketball teams in Big 5 history will be inducted into the Hall of Fame including the Wildcats National Champion 1984-195 team with an astonishing 25-10 record. Other Big 5 teams include:

1968-69 LA SALLE: Record 23-1, highest national rank #2, Coach Tom Gola.1970-71

PENN: Record 28-1, highest national rank #3, Coach Dick Harter.2003-04

SAINT JOSEPH’S: Record 30-2, highest national rank #1, Coach Phil Martelli.1987-88

TEMPLE: Record 32-2, highest national rank #1, Coach John Chaney.1984-85

VILLANOVA: Record 25-10, NCAA Champions, Coach Rollie Massimino.


Ryan Arcidiacono (Villanova)

DeAndre’ Bembry (Saint Joseph’s)

Quenton DeCosey (Temple)

Josh Hart (Villanova)

Isaiah Miles (Saint Joseph’s)


Jaylen Bond (Temple)

Kris Jenkins (Villanova)

Darien Nelson-Henry (Penn)

Daniel Ochefu (Villanova)

Jordan Price (La Salle)

PLAYER OF THE YEAR: DeAndre’ Bembry (Saint Joseph’s)

ROOKIE OF THE YEAR: Jalen Brunson (Villanova)

COACH OF THE YEAR: Phil Martelli (Saint Joseph’s)

TEAM CHAMPIONS: Villanova Wildcats

MOST IMPROVED PLAYER: Isaiah Miles (Saint Joseph’s)

SCHOLAR: Amar Stukes (La Salle)

LEADING SCORER: Jordan Price (La Salle)

LEADING FREE THROW SHOOTER: Isaiah Miles (Saint Joseph’s)

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page